Friday Favorites: The Little Black Dress

Hi there!

Today, we’re highlighting the piece that should be in every woman’s wardrobe – the LBD. As I mentioned in my 18 in 18 post, I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect little black dress and have included some of my favorite styles priced at around $200 and below.

When shopping, keep the following in mind:

Classic shape

A great dress will last for years. Invest in a LBD with a classic silhouette that will outlast trends.

Seasonless

Steer clear of materials you can only wear during the summer or winter months. Instead, opt for versatile fabrics you can wear year round.

Alterations

Find a good tailor by asking a trusted boutique or department store for recommendations and get a perfect fit by having your dress tailored specifically for you.

Take a photo

I find it helpful to take a photo in the mirror of the dressing room when trying on clothes. For me, it gives a more objective idea of what looks most flattering on my body – especially when trying on multiple items that are similar, like a black dress.

Day to night 

Make sure you select a dress that will take you from day to night. I specifically think about the places I’ll need to wear the dress. For me, this means picking a dress conservative enough that I can wear to work with a blazer or dress up for a cocktail party or wedding or as much as I hate to say it, a funeral.

Have a point of view

Pick a dress that showcases your personality. I lean towards classic, tailored silhouettes but like pieces that have some kind of twist to them, like a cut-out, fun sleeve or leather accents.

Discover Fashion Online

ASOS Midi High Neck Pencil Dress With Cut Out Back And Shoulder Detail, $58

Discover Fashion Online

ASOS Scalloped Hem Mini Dress With Crop Top, $45

Molly Bow Dress in Black by Sugarlips - Tnuck

Sugarlips Molly Bow Dress, $120

 

Black Mod Dress in Black by Emerson Fry - Tnuck

Emerson Fry Black Mod Dress, $178

pdpImgShortDescription

French Connection Savos Textured Mock Neck Dress, $98

pdpImgShortDescription

Likely Bedford Flair-Ciff Mini Dress, $178

pdpImgShortDescription

BCBGeneration Twist-Front Faux-Wrap Dress, $88
7880177

Free Generation Lace Eyelet Midi Dress, $54

pdpImgShortDescription

Bailey 44 Kendo Faux Leather Hem Dress, $218

pdpImgShortDescription

BCBGeneration Ponte Fit-And-Flare Dress, $78

pdpImgShortDescription

Wayf Ruffle Short-Sleeve Wrap Dress, $145